I’m thankful because I was privileged enough to serve in the military. I served in the U.S. Navy from 1986 to 1990. I was stationed in beautiful San Diego. That gave me the opportunity to get away from home and have to pushed out of my cocoon to figure out the world on my own. I didn’t know anyone there. I grew to know people and my friends became my family, and my support group. Through the magic of Facebook I’ve found some of those I served with as well as the friends I made there.

I was also given advice a few years ago after being laid off from HP to take advantage of medical care offered by the VA. I qualified and the VA has been great thus far. Today I had the “privilege” of having my yearly mammogram. While it’s not a “pleasant” experience, it’s a very useful tool in detecting breast cancer early. Considering my Mom had breast cancer, this is even more critical for me.

I am also peeved with myself today as well. I need to be patient, kind, understanding and mindful of what I say and do with those I care most about. Holding old grudges only hurts me…not anyone else. So…send me some positive thoughts so that I can do better and be much more mindful and loving.

I’m also very thankful we’ve had some rain, the Waldo Canyon Fire is at 90% containment and they expect full containment by Sunday, EARLIER than expected! :0)

Hope you all had a great 4th of July!